Assessment

Its a bit of a shock to find that a ‘pass’ goes from 45 to 85.

My thinking goes…I’m doing this in my own time, I’m not going to have much time to read around, and referencing does not come naturally to me*.   So approaching TMA1 I put in my best-effort-in-the-time with my sights on a comfortable pass.

Whilst happy with a very-comfortable-pass my initial thought was “I have over-delivered”, “maybe I could have taken up that offer of Sunday lunch”.  But then I remind myself of my motivation to do the course, and the fact that it is interesting, and that I would like to get the most out of it that I can, and that I would be horrified to get anything less than 60% for anything.

So the reality is that I will indeed put the same amount of effort in for TMA2 but,  in my case, if I were to focus on the marking scheme only it would have a deflationary rather than inflationary influence on my efforts and aspirations.

* I have no recollection of referencing in 1986 while studying software engineering…like Windows it didn’t appear to have caught on.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Assessment

  1. runtezza says:

    Hi Nuala — just dropping in on your blog. What a great title!

    I had meant to comment on your latest entry but got confused by the position of the ‘comment’ link.

    It’s interesting what you say about referencing fetishism. If you look at journal articles from, say, the 1970s, in marketing, there are often minimal references to anything. Now articles positively bristle with them. I’m sure there are lots of reasons for this (technology not the least of them) but it has certainly caught on in terms of what we expect from students. And no matter how comprehensive referencing guides attempt to be, I still find it very confusing at times!

  2. Debbi says:

    Hi Nuala, interesting that you hadn’t needed to be familiar with referencing as much prior to this. I come from a science/research background, way back in the late 1970s / early 1980s, and it was one of the first things drummed into us. I certainly appreciate that now, as it is pretty much second nature now.

Comments are closed.